Torino / Tuesday 14 September 2021

Tempio Valdese / at 05:00 PM


The musicians of the Meta4 Quartet from Finland usually play while standing. This approach adds to their complicity, rather than subtracting from it. It can be heard here, inasmuch as Haydn lays bare the non-standard possibilities for upending the quartet formation – such as the unbridled and very singable cello part. While Sibelius gets caught up in his own suffering as an alcoholic with an intimate, heartrending confession.

Franz Joseph Haydn Quartetto in do maggiore op. 20 n. 2 Hob. III:32 Jean Sibelius Quartetto in re minore op. 56 “Voces intimae”

Meta4 Quartet

Antti Tikkanen, violin
Minna Pensola, violin
Atte Kilpeläinen, viola
Tomas Djupsjöbacka, cello

General Admission € 5

Download the libretto

by Oreste Bossini