Torino / Wednesday 21 September 2022
Meta4 Quartet
Meta4 Quartet

Tempio Valdese / at 05:00 PM


In this second and final episode in our string quartet adventure – which may be enjoyed even without having heard Part One – takes listeners on a one-hour journey through the transformation of music composed for the string quartet, from the end of the 19th century and Grieg, all the way to the latest, most curious inventions by Kaja Saariaho and John Adams.


Edvard Grieg Presto al saltarello from String Quartet in G minor Op. 27 Maurice Ravel Allegro moderato from String Quartet in F major Alban Berg Allegro misterioso from Lyrische Suite Béla Bartók Scherzo from String Quartet No. 5 Samuel Barber Molto adagio from String Quartet Op. 11 Dmitrij Šostakovič Adagio from String Quartet No. 3 in F major Op. 73 Kaija Saariaho Excerpts from Fleur de neiges John Adams Stubble Crochet e Toot Nipple

Meta4 Quartet

Antti Tikkanen, violin
Minna Pensola, violin
Atte Kilpeläinen, viola
Tomas Djupsjöbacka, cello

MITO 2022 resident chamber ensemble

General Admission € 5

Download the libretto

by Oreste Bossini